Deactivate or reactivate a user
Note: This feature can only be controlled by organization administrators.
Follow the following steps to deactivate or reactivate any user's account in your organization.
Deactivate a user
To properly remove a user’s access to a Zulip organization, it does not suffice to change their password or deactivate their account in an email system, since neither of those actions prevents authentication with the user’s API key or any API keys of the bots the user has created.
Instead, you should deactivate the user’s account using the Zulip organization administration interface; this will also automatically deactivate any bots the user has created.
Click the Deactivate button to the right of the user account that you want to deactivate.
After clicking the Deactivate button, a modal window titled Deactivate (user's email address) will appear.
To confirm the deactivation of the user's account, click the Deactivate now button. Please note that any bots that the user maintains will be disabled.
After clicking the Deactivate now button, the button will transform into a Reactivate button, and the Make admin button will also disappear, confirming the success of the account's deactivation.
The user will be logged out immediately and returned to the Zulip login page and will not be able to log back in.
Reactivate a user
Zulip organization administrators can choose to reactivate a user's deactivated account by following the following steps.